How To Watch TODAY’s Superlong, Blood Moon Total Lunar Eclipse ONLINE (It Won’t Be Visible in North America)

Posted by on July 27, 2018 in Earth & Space, Sci-Tech, Science with 0 Comments

By Meghan Bartels, Space.com Senior Writer | Space.com

The total lunar eclipse tomorrow (July 27) won’t be visible for people across North America, and bad weather could threaten even the geographically lucky — but in the digital age, no avid skywatcher is ever shut out.

Astronomy lovers from across the eclipse zone will be livestreaming their views, so if you are not able to catch the event live, you’ll have plenty of options, and we’ll pick one to share at Space.com.


Slooh will turn its online telescope to the lunar eclipse for a massive 6-hour moon-fest, with coverage starting at 1 p.m. EDT (1700 GMT) and ending at 7:30 p.m. EDT (2300 GMT). The webcast will include a team of experts discussing the science and stories behind lunar eclipses in general and this long one specifically. [Here’s How Friday’s Superlong Lunar Eclipse Works]

The Virtual Telescope Project will also be broadcasting its view of the eclipse — and Mars in opposition — from the Palatine Hill of Rome. This livestream will appeal to history lovers, with the ancient Arch of Constantine and the Colosseum dominating the skyline. The broadcast will start at 2:30 p.m. EDT (1830 GMT).

If you prefer England to Italy, the Royal Museums Greenwich, site of the Royal Observatory, will be just your cup of tea. The observatory will be broadcasting the view from the Annie Maunder Astrographic Telescope on Facebook, beginning at 3:45 p.m. EDT (1945 GMT). Astronomers will discuss eclipses, telescope techniques and other skywatching topics. [Blood Moon 2018: Longest Total Lunar Eclipse of Century Occurs July 27]

The Bareket Observatory in Israel will livestream the view from its telescope, with the broadcast beginning at 2:30 p.m. EDT (1830 GMT). Time and Datewill also be streaming the eclipse beginning at 2 p.m. EDT (1800 GMT) from an unspecified location.

For an eclipse livestream in Spanish, tune in to Sky Live TV, which will be broadcasting from Namibia with astronomers from the Canary Islands. The livestream will begin at 2:20 p.m. EDT (1820 GMT).


Don’t want to hop between livestreams for the best view? The Weather Channel will be pulling footage from a range of sites to share on its app for U.S. viewers. The broadcast will start at 4 p.m. EDT (2000 GMT) and last about an hour.

Whichever broadcast you choose, happy lunar eclipse viewing!

Email Meghan Bartels at mbartels@space.com or follow her @meghanbartels. Follow us @Spacedotcom, Facebook and Google+. Original article on Space.com.

Tags: , , , ,

Subscribe

If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Subscribe via RSS Feed Connect on YouTube

New Title

NOTE: Email is optional. Do NOT enter it if you do NOT want it displayed.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

FAIR USE NOTICE. Many of the articles on this site contain copyrighted material whose use has not been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making this material available in an effort to advance the understanding of environmental issues, human rights, economic and political democracy, and issues of social justice. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of the copyrighted material as provided for in Section 107 of the US Copyright Law which contains a list of the various purposes for which the reproduction of a particular work may be considered fair, such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. If you wish to use such copyrighted material for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use'...you must obtain permission from the copyright owner. And, if you are a copyright owner who wishes to have your content removed, let us know via the "Contact Us" link at the top of the site, and we will promptly remove it.

The information on this site is provided for educational and entertainment purposes only. It is not intended as a substitute for professional advice of any kind. Conscious Life News assumes no responsibility for the use or misuse of this material. Your use of this website indicates your agreement to these terms.

Paid advertising on Conscious Life News may not represent the views and opinions of this website and its contributors. No endorsement of products and services advertised is either expressed or implied.
Top

Send this to friend